Ridgeview Medical Center Receives an “A” for Patient Safety in Spring 2017 Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade

The Leapfrog Group, a nonprofit organization committed to driving quality, safety, and transparency in the U.S. health care system, today released new Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades, which assign A, B, C, D and F letter grades to hospitals nationwide.  Ridgeview Medical Center is one of 823 (out of 2,639) U.S. hospitals – and one of 17 Minnesota hospitals – that received an “A” for its commitment to reducing errors, infections and accidents that can harm patients.

The Minnesota hospitals earning an A include:

  • Ridgeview Medical Center
  • Cambridge Medical Center
  • Maple Grove Hospital
  • St. Francis Regional Medical Center
  • Lakeview Hospital
  • Park Nicollet Methodist Hospital
  • Mercy Hospital of Coon Rapids
  • Abbott Northwestern Hospital
  • Woodwinds Health Campus
  • Essentia Health-Virginia
  • Mayo Clinic Health System - Mankato Hospital
  • Mayo Clinic Health System in Red Wing
  • Douglas County Hospital
  • Grand Itasca Clinic and Hospital
  • Fairview Range Medical Center
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital - Saint Mary’s Campus
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital - Methodist Campus

“Hospitals that earn top marks nationally in the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, ‘have achieved the highest safety standards in the country,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “That takes commitment from every member of the hospital staff, who all deserve thanks and congratulations when their hospitals achieve an ‘A’ Safety Grade.”

Robert Stevens, president and CEO of Ridgeview, credits Ridgeview’s employees and medical staff for achieving this honor. “This award is a testament to our strong commitment to providing each and every patient with exceptional care,” Stevens said. “We are very proud to be an ‘A’ hospital and recognized nationwide.”

Developed under the guidance of an Expert Panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 30 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign A, B, C, D and F grades to more than 2,600 U.S. hospitals twice per year. It is calculated by top patient safety experts, peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public.

For more information, visit www.hospitalsafetygrade.org.

About The Leapfrog Group

Founded in 2000 by large employers and other purchasers, The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey collects and transparently reports hospital performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the lifesaving information they need to make informed decisions. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, Leapfrog’s other main initiative, assigns letter grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping consumers protect themselves and their families from errors, injuries, accidents, and infections.