Ridgeview Foundation awards scholarships to area high school seniors

Ridgeview Foundation and Ridgeview Medical Center are proud to announce the 2014 recipients of a $1,000 Health Care Scholarship. Winners include:

Megan Schmidt Belle Plaine Senior High School
Meagan Sons Central High School, Norwood Young America
Elin Ellefson Chanhassen High School
Amanda Keranen Delano High School
Chelsea LaBarre Holy Family Catholic High School, Victoria
Caitlin Burke  Holy Trinity High School, Winsted
Benenon Shannon Howard Lake–Waverly–Winsted High School
Taylor Ziermann Lester Prairie High School
Lauren Manteuffel Mayer Lutheran High School
Katie Mott Minnetonka High School
Trevor Omann Mound Westonka High School
Katherine Spurlock Orono High School
Sarah Shimota Sibley East High School, Arlington
Joe Nessa Waconia High School
Allyson Matrella Watertown–Mayer High School
Daniel Bailey Ridgeview Employee’s Child (St. Cloud Cathedral)

Ridgeview Foundation awarded $16,000 in scholarships to west-metro students this year. The Health Care Scholarship is 100 percent funded by Ridgeview Friends & Family, Ridgeview’s largest and oldest giving club, through annual donations from community members and Ridgeview employees.

In 2001, Ridgeview Foundation created the scholarship program in response to the shortage of health care workers. More than $87,000 was raised at the 2001 Ridgeview Foundation Golf Extravaganza toward the creation of the scholarship program. Including the awards this year, the foundation has awarded scholarships to 159 area students since the program’s inception. Ridgeview Medical Center becomes an educational resource for many recipients as they frequently participate in job shadows and internships offered by the Medical Center. To date, nine scholarship recipients have come to work at Ridgeview Medical Center.

If you would like to learn more about the scholarship program and its eligibility requirements, or to donate to the scholarship fund, please contact Kelly Schiffman at 952-442-2191, ext. 6373. Application forms for the 2015 scholarships will be available Feb. 1, 2015.

Photo Caption: Pictured with Linda Roebke, Ridgeview Foundation Board member and Scholarship Committee member, are (top, from left): Elin Ellefson, Joe Nessa, Daniel Bailey, Megan Schmidt, Trevor Omann, Lauren Manteuffel, (bottom, from left) Meagan Sons, Katherine Spurlock, Sarah Shimota, Amanda Keranen, Allyson Matrella, Chelsea LaBarre and Benenon Shannon. Not Pictured: Caitlin Burke, Katie Mott and Taylor Ziermann.