Published on May 15, 2019

Ridgeview Awards Scholarships to Area High School Seniors

Ridgeview is pleased to announce the 2019 recipients of a $2,000 Health Care Scholarship. Scholarships were awarded to the following high school students who are pursuing a health care related degree or career:

  • Jessica Breuggemeier - Belle Plaine
  • Audrey Steinhagen - Central (Norwood Young America)
  • Bronwyn-Boyce-Erickson - Chanhassen
  • Marissa Grothe - Chaska
  • Gretchen Wuerger - Delano
  • Miah Busse - Gibbon, Fairfax, Winthrop (GFW)
  • Rhyan Hermann - Glencoe-Silver Lake (GSL)
  • Brielle Bornhorst - Holy Family
  • Katlyn Pokornowski - Holy Trinity
  • Ariana Higgins - Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted
  • Nathaniel Hausladen - Lester Prairie
  • Kelsey Berndt - Le Sueur-Henderson
  • Megan Thomas - Mayer Lutheran
  • Ayush Shah - Minnetonka
  • Lauren Lachenmayer - Mound-Westonka
  • Anna-Maya Sipilia - Orono
  • Brooke Willmsen - Sibley East
  • Sophia Strelnieks - Southwest Christian
  • Ciera Johnson - Waconia
  • Grace Zieske - Ridgeview employee child, Waconia
  • Haley Jensrud - Watertown Mayer
  • Brielle Iddings - Non-Traditional

This year, Ridgeview awarded $44,000 in scholarships to west-metro students. Funding for the Ridgeview Health Care Scholarship Program is generously provided by Ridgeview Foundation’s Friends & Family Committee, Ridgeview Sibley Foundation, Ridgeview LeSueur Auxilliary Group and an anonymous community donor.

In 2001, Ridgeview Foundation created the scholarship program in response to the shortage of health care workers. Nearly $90,000 was raised at the 2001 Ridgeview Foundation Golf Extravaganza toward the creation of the scholarship program. With this year’s awards for 2019, we have now awarded nearly 300 scholarships since the program’s inception. Ridgeview becomes an educational resource for many recipients as they frequently participate in job shadows and internships offered by Ridgeview. To date, over 20 previous scholarship recipients have come to work at Ridgeview.

For more information about the scholarship program and its eligibility requirements, or to donate to the scholarship fund, please contact Ridgeview Foundation at 952-442-6010. Application forms for the 2020 scholarships will be available February 2020.

Scholarship recipients.

Pictured with Linda Roebke, Ridgeview Scholarship Committee member, are (top, from left): Ayush Shah, Brielle Bornhorst, Ciera Johnson, Brielle Iddings, Audrey Steinhagen, Anna-Maya Sipilia, Haley Jensrud, Marissa Grothe (bottom, from left): Ariana Higgins, Gretchen Wuerger, Brooke Willmsen, Bronwyn Boyce-Erickson, Lauren Lachenmayer, Katlyn Porkornowski, Nathaniel Hausladen. (Not pictured): Kelsey Berndt, Jessica Breuggemeier, Miah Busse, Rhyan Hermann, Sophia Strelnieks, Megan Thomas, and Grace Zieske.